At FPC Moorestown, we strive to be a congregation of disciples who make disciples.

The message we preach determines the disciple we’ll make. For sixteen Sundays, we’ll closely examine the “discipleship gospel”, what Jesus preached and what we must do using the Gospel of Mark.

Our sermon series is

Live-able: The Discipleship Gospel.

As Eugene Peterson wrote, “Everything in [Mark] is live-able.”

 

Seven Essential Elements of the Gospel

1. God’s Kingdom is here.
2. Jesus is the Christ.
3. Jesus died for our sins.
4. Jesus was resurrected.
5. We repent of sin.
6. We believe the Gospel.
7. We follow Jesus.
“You are going to hear stories that will take you out of your preoccupation with yourself and into the spacious freedom in which God is working the world’s salvation. You are going to come across words and sentences that stab you awake to a beauty and hope that will connect you with your real life. Be sure to answer.” (The Message, p. 11)
 
From The Discipleship Gospel: What Jesus Preached – We Must Follow by Bill Hull & Ben Sobels. Companion Study Guide: The Discipleship Gospel Workbook
 

Join Us for a Sunday Study

 

Live-able: Discipleship Gospel Study

Sundays, from 9:45-10:45 am, Fellowship Hall

Join Pastor Stuart Spencer and Rev. Paul Asciutto for a weekly study of discipleship. Participants will use the companion Study Guide for the Discipleship Gospel ($10). The class concludes on August 16th.
 
 

Our Sunday Services

 
Sunday, July 25, 2021

“Love on the Ground”

Mark 14: 1 – 11 
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 
 
 
Sunday, July 18, 2021

“Wake Up!”

Mark 13: 24 – 37 
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 
 
 
Sunday, July 11, 2021

“A Non-Discipleship Gospel”

Mark 12: 1 – 12 
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 
 
 
Sunday, July 4, 2021

“Mountain-Moving Faith”

Mark 11: 12 – 25
Peter Jonescu preaching
 
 
 
Sunday, June 27, 2021

“You Can’t Thread the Needle”

Mark 10: 17 – 31 
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 
 
 
Sunday, June 20, 2021

“I Believe, Help My Unbelief”

Mark 9:14 – 29
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 
 
 
Sunday, June 13, 2021

“The Way of the Cross”

Mark 8: 31 – 38 
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 
Congratulations to the Class of 2021.
 
 
 
 
Sunday, June 6, 2021

“Heart Transplant”

Mark 7: 14 – 23
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 
 
 
Sunday, May 30, 2021

“Improving Your Serve”

Mark 6: 1 – 13 
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 
 
 
Sunday, May 23, 2021

“We Belong on the Other Side”

Mark 5: 1 – 20 
Luke Maxted preaching
 
Pentecost Sunday
 
 
 
Sunday, May 16, 2021

“Fourth Soil Disciples”

Mark 4: 1 – 20 
Rev. Wes Allen, guest preacher
 
 
 
Sunday, May 9, 2021

“Sign on the Line”

Mark 3: 7 – 19 
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 
The Sacrament of Baptism held during both services.
 
 
 
Sunday, May 2, 2021

“More Than a Band-Aid”

Mark 2: 13 – 17
Kelly LePenske preaching
 
 
 
Sunday, April 25, 2021

“And So It Begins”

Mark 1:1-18
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching
 

Looking Ahead…

 
Sunday, August 1, 2021
We welcome guest preacher
Dr. Anthony Maimone
 
Sunday, August 8, 2021
“Your Turn to Write a Line”
Mark 16: 1 – 8
Rev. Stuart Spencer preaching